CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer 1

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

MEMBERS

Federal Glover County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member

> Martin McNair Public Member

Dwight Meadows Special District Member

> Rob Schroder City Member

Don Tatzin City Member

Gayle B. Uilkema County Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Sharon Burke Public Member

Tom Butt City Member

George H. Schmidt Special District Member

> Mary N. Piepho County Member

March 14, 2012 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

March 14, 2012 Agenda Item 7

Fire Service Update - East Contra Costa County Fire Protection District

Dear Commissioners:

In March 2011, the Commission received an update on fire service issues, including service models, funding and sustainability. At that time, the Commission requested that fire service agencies provide an update again at the September 2011 LAFCO meeting or earlier in the event of any significant activity (e.g., success/failure of any ballot measures, any revenue enhancement successes/failures at the local level, pursuit of any alternative service configurations, etc.).

In Summer 2011, there was notable activity relating to fire service in East County. Discussions were occurring among East Contra Costa Fire Protection District (ECCFPD), the cities of Brentwood and Oakley, San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District, Cal Fire and other interested parties, relating to potential changes in the delivery of fire and emergency medical services in East County. In response, the Commission asked to be kept apprised of these activities and discussions. Consequently, ECCFPD began providing the Commission with monthly updates.

In September 2011, as part of the monthly update, Chief Henderson, ECCFPD, reported that the ECCFPD Board approved its FY 2011-2012 operating budget, and approved moving forward with a June 2012 ballot measure for a parcel tax. The Commission thanked Chief Henderson, indicating that monthly reports were no longer necessary, and requesting that ECCFPD provide an update at the May 2012 LAFCO meeting, prior to the June ballot measure.

On February 27, 2012, the ECCFPD Board met and voted to call a special election on June 5, 2012 proposing a special tax of \$197 per parcel. The proposed tax will sunset in 2023, unless the voters decide to extend it. Chief Henderson has offered to provide a verbal update to the Commission on this matter and will do so at the March 14th LAFCO meeting.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA **EXECUTIVE OFFICER**